Vancouver Branch Awards & RSCDS Scrolls of Honour


Branch Awards are made to both well-sung heroes and unsung heroes who have contributed to the Branch beyond the ordinary call of duty. They must have contributed to the enjoyment and excellence of Scottish Country Dancing and its music, at the Branch, in at least one of the following ways:

  1. Innovation and/or growth including new programs.
  2. Prestige and/or standards of excellence.
  3. Significant contribution to the enjoyment of Scottish Country Dancing and the happiness of others.
  4. Significant and/or extensive administrative service.
  5. Significant financial contribution.

Guidelines and Procedures for Branch Awards

2017 Branch Award Recipients

Rebecca Blackhall-Peters was presented with her RSCDS Vancouver Branch Award by Chair, Peter Richards on Saturday, March 18, 2017 at the Vancouver Branch Heather Ball.  The Vancouver Branch Board was proud to support the nomination made by Stewart Cunningham, outlining Rebecca’s over twenty years of enthusiastically participating in and supporting Scottish Country Dancing.

Information on Recipient

Simon Scott was presented with his RSCDS Vancouver Branch Award by Chair, Peter Richards on Sunday, December 10, 2017 at the 54th Annual Gleneagles Ball.

Information on Recipient



2016 RSCDS Scroll of Honour

The Board is delighted to announce that Duncan MacKenzie was awarded the Scroll of Honour at the RSCDS Annual General Meeting in Perth on Saturday, November 5th, 2016. The Scroll of Honour is the highest accolade that the RSCDS awards. This is awarded each year to a few individuals who have made an exceptional contribution, generally to the RSCDS at large worldwide as well as locally. In Duncan’s case, as we all know, it is exceptionally well deserved. Peter Richards, Chair RSCDS Vancouver Branch.

Information on Recipient

2016 Branch Award Recipienttom-read

Tom Read was presented with a RSCDS Branch Award by Chair, Gerry Stensgaard, on Saturday, September 10, 2016 at the Fort Worden Ball. Coincidentally, with the acquisition of Tom’s award, the Seattle Branch went about obtaining an award for Rosemary Read. The presentations were accompanied by much applause from the floor. It was a lovely way to honour the contributions that this dynamic dancing-duo has made to Scottish country dancing in the Pacific Northwest.

Information on the recipient

2015 Branch Award Recipient

Jean WagstaffJean Wagstaff was presented with a RSCDS Branch Award by Chair, Gerry Stensgaard, on Saturday, March 21, 2015 at Vancouver’s Golden Jubilee Ball. For almost forty years, Jean Wagstaff has been making exceptional and valued contributions to the Vancouver Branch and its members. In her quiet but always positive way, Jean has danced; taught; made kilts for our men; organized; member of the Branch Board;  Vancouver TAC representative;  catered and decorated for innumerable social events.

Information on the recipient.

2014 Branch Award Recipient

Kirsten EarlKirsten Earl was presented with a RSCDS Branch Award on March 22nd at the Heather Ball in the GizehTemple. Kirsten is a familiar face at local socials and Balls.  The Vancouver Branch was proud to support the nomination made by her fellow dancers in Terrace.

Information on the recipient.

2013 Branch Award Recipient

Frances CaruthFrances Caruth was presented with a RSCDS Vancouver Branch Award on Saturday, February 16th, at the Tea Dance following the Love to Dance Scottish Workshop, one of the many events which Fran organizes each year.  This award recognizes her more than thirty years’ association with and participation in Scottish Country Dancing in Vancouver and beyond.

Information on the recipient.

2010 Branch Award Recipient

Dorothy HargreavesDorothy Hargreaves received the Vancouver Branch Award on Saturday, April 10 in recognition of her more than thirty years’ association with and participation in Scottish country dancing in Vancouver.

Information on the recipient.

2009 Branch Award Recipients

Maureen HoodAt the Love to Dance workshop dance in February 2009, Board Chair Ed Wagstaff presented the 2009 Branch Awards.

Al and Helen Hughes
Maureen Hood
Maureen Lyon
Information on the recipients.

2006 Branch Award Recipients

Vancouver Branch Aawards 2006Branch Chair Elizabeth Peerless presented Branch Awards at the Burns Supper January 2006 to ten recipients.

Ron Arrowsmith
Rosemary Coupe
Alex and Ruth Jappy
May Loudon
Duncan MacKenzie
Mary Murray
Elspeth Rennie
Hellen Stephen
Mary Wattum

Information on the recipients.